State of emergency declared in Schoharie County

Above: Route 30 south of Middleburgh in Schoharie County this afternoon. Photo used with permission.

Governor Andrew Cuomo just declared a state of emergency in a slew of additional counties affected by today's snow storm, including Schoharie County in the Catskills. Earlier today, Cuomo declared a state of emergency in the Mid-Hudson Valley, New York City, and Long Island.

According to the Schoharie County Fire Wire & News Facebook page, there was a motor vehicle accident on Route 30 around 3pm that has since been cleared.  

Here is the full state of emergency press release from Gov. Andrew Cuomo's office: 


New Yorkers in Hard-Hit Regions Urged to Stay off Roads

Due to rapidly worsening conditions and forecasts, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo’s State of Emergency Executive Order from today has been expanded to include the following counties: Albany, Clinton, Cortland, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, St. Lawrence, Washington and Warren Counties. The National Weather Services has predicted accumulations of between eight and 16 inches in these counties.

Earlier this morning, the Governor declared an executive order for the Mid-Hudson, New York City, and Long Island regions. Under a state of emergency, critical resources that are normally restricted to State use are mobilized to assist local governments and laws and regulations that would otherwise impede their rapid response are suspended.

Correction, 11:07 p.m.: A previous draft of this post stated that Schoharie was the only Catskills county for which a state of emergency had yet been declared. Sullivan and Ulster counties, both part of the Catskills region, are part of the Mid-Hudson region for which Gov. Cuomo declared a state of emergency earlier on Thursday.